Why Did He Lie ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Did He Lie ?

Some of you buy the astrakan man description? (I find it hard to believe that no one noticed such a character) If so, what motives do you think that lead him to lie? I'm new at ripperology, and I don't know how risky it was to go to the police, and how much did he know of Lewi's description of the prowling man outside Miller's Court..

Hi Verogarlin

Hutchinson would have the inquest reports at his disposal by the time he offered his statement, and would have known about the sighting across the road from Millers court

It is surprising then, if he was covering his tracks, that he did not mention seeing Lewis

I'm one of the few who think that a man dressed as Astrakhan may well have been at that location at that time

Most seem to think that he would have been robbed if not killed within minutes due to the nature of the area

Comment

I can prolly. only think of one reason of him going to the police, and that reason is he read Lewis' testimony. Innocent o culprit, that sure scared him.
      Now, about why he lied about the astrakan man:
      Maybe there wasn't a man and
      1) He didn't wanted to say he was the last man who saw Kelly alive. Wanted to make sure police didn't blame him. Or he himself was the killer.
      or maybe there WAS a man, and Hutchinson gave a false description. Why?:
      2) He was involved in something illegal while waiting outside Kelly's house and didn't want that man to be found. Hutchinson was a pimp? Wanted to robe a man who entered the room with Mary?
      3)He was an accomplice of the killer
      4)He was afraid that the killer will go after him, what with that rumor of Eddowes wanting to denounce the killer and getting herself killed

What do you think?

Comment

Originally posted by Verogarlin View Post