Dr Walter John Brooks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr Walter John Brooks

I hadn't realised before that Thomas' doctor was a police surgeon, as this snippet from an 1882 trial reveals.
    Handy that.

' WALTER JOHN BROOKS . I am a surgeon, of 137, Westminster Bridge Road—I saw the prosecutrix at the station about 5 o'clock—she had lacerated and contused wounds on the scalp, and an incised wound across the throat, such as would be produced by a knife like this—she was bleeding profusely, and fainted—the wounds in the head were not in themselves dangerous, but they might have been, as erysipelas might have set in—one wound was quite an inch or an inch and a half long, and went down to the bone—her life has not been in danger—I noticed that her breath smelt of drink.'

Good find, AP, as long as we can be sure that he was a police surgeon and not just passing by etc.

Unfortunately there's a bit of doubt as to which doc was Tom's doc. This is from the 1891 directory under 'surgeons'. Triple event!
    Attached Files

Comment

Tarnation, Robert, I move an inch forward and you pull me back ten paces!
      But that's what it is all about.
      Well done, me old mate.

Comment

Interesting coincidence here, AP. Look at the name of the road where Walter ended up living.

SEPT 19th 1938
        Attached Files

Comment

Isn't that where old Ma Cutbush fell down the stairs, Robert?
          I know it is familiar.
          You'll note that one of the many thousands of Dr Brooks what infested Westminster Bridge Road had a surgery at Kennington as well.
          He's got to be the Neddy we seek.

Comment

Yes AP, this is the road where Kate, Clara and Mr Petrolie moved to, It should be possible to find out how close "Homeville" was to their house.

Comment

AP, it was the same side of the road about 12 houses apart.

Comment

Not another Cutbush-Flood charity car boot sale, Robert?

Comment

You mean a THC job lot, AP?

Comment