Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting Point

Hello all!

First post on this site in ages, but now it´s time. Come February, my book "Cutting Point" will be released. It is, of course, a book on Charles Lechmere.

When I was a journalist at Sydsvenskan, the largest daily newspaper of southern Sweden, for a period of time I had an editor in chief by the name of Hans Månsson. When he was first presented to the journalists, he wore a button on his chest. On the button, there was a single word written: "Why?" That was the one thing he always expected journalists to explain, the single most important angle in every article.

It is an approach I try to use in my book.

Why was Charles Lechmere the killer?

Why was he never identified as the killer in 1888?

Why did the murders look the way they did?

Questions like these are what I try to answer in the book, and it is therefore not a book that has any ambition at all to cover the whole field of the Ripper murders and the Thames Torso murders, deeds I hold Charles Lechmere responsible for. Being a journalist, I have tried to detract instead of adding, and to reduce the material to the bare bones as much as possible.

The outcome is a book that has peeled away many names and areas of research that are normally represented in Ripper books. On the other hand, I have added material that is normally not present. The aim has been to make as clear a case as possible for why Charles Lechmere is the man that has been sought for 132 years.